This 3 1/2 day (28 hours) carbine course will introduce the participant to the fundamentals of defense and marksmanship with a semi-auto carbine, caliber 5.56 or 7.62, effective from handgun distance, out to approximately 100 yards and beyond. With the introduction of flashlight techniques with a handgun and carbine.
- Participants will learn the following:
- -How to zero and pattern their weapon
- -Mechanical offset
- -Loading procedures
- -Instruction on malfunction clearances
- -Various firing positions
- -Use of cover and barricades
- -Multiple threat and no-shoot situations
- -Transition from Carbine to pistol
- -Proper use of flashlights with firearms
Successful completion of the Defensive Handgun Level I is preferred, but not mandatory. Students must have either a valid Alaska Concealed Carry Permit, provide current military or law enforcement identification, or have obtained a State of Alaska background check prior to participating in this training.
- -Good attitude.
- -Minimum of 21 years of age.
- -Completed Application for Training.
- -Your 5.56 or 7.62 carbine & carry handgun
- -Full size pistol, 3 mags, holster and mag pouches
-5 or more carbine Magazines, Mag pouches
- -1200 carbine & 300 pistol rounds
- -Tactical Flashlight- on and/or off the weapon
- -Appropriate clothing for weather - (Ball cap, closed toe footwear, etc.)
- -Safety glasses, hearing protection and knee pads. (Available upon request.)
- *Carbine rental fee is $50.00 a day
-Must use Alaska Tactical ammunition if renting a firearm
-Cost of ammunition is not included in carbine rental fee